Di Jamaica Christmas Breeze

Dunns River Falls

Chilly Climb

Christmas Eve 2010 will go down as probably my coldest Christmas Eve ever! I’ve lived long enough to forget a few things, and there might have been colder ones considering some of the places I’ve spent Christmas in Jamaica. I’ve done Christmas in Mandeville, Portland, St. Catherine, Trelawny, St. Ann and Kingston. This year I was in St. Catherine. It did cowl. Bad.

Christmas in Jamaica is one of my favourite things. Honestly, the food has a lot to do with it. But when I’m overseas, I generally get the food one way or another. So it has to be something about having the Christmas food in Jamaica. Does anyone know if the Jamaica Breeze have anything to do with how the food tastes? It’s an indescribable something about how the Christmas Sorrel (with rum please!), Christmas Cake (with more rum), and the Christmas Ham just takes on an extra something.

But I was talking about the Christmas Breeze before the food distracted me. I’m one of the strange people who love this Jamaica cold weather. Not the nasty 17 feet of snow type weather now. I just prefer when things are between 15 – 25 degrees Celsius. Christmas Day it got warmer and I’m hoping it will not climb any higher.

My selfish Christmas wish is that this temperature stays cool to cold like this all year round. Heat, as in the temperatures above 40 degrees Celsius, and I disagree. That’s how I know the Hell option and I won’t agree at all. Heaven is reputedly cooler so I’m packing winter clothes. I love when its cold so that I can pile on the warm clothing and snuggle deeper under my blanket. Both blankets.

Now maybe the tourists will not like it being that cool, as no doubt water temperatures will drop also. Dunn’s River Falls in the middle of Summer feels like water from the fridge when you first set foot in it. Come to think of it, I have never been to Dunn’s River between December and March. Hmmm, I wonder why.

Along with the cold weather, I want the sun to be out. It gives an opportunity for us to “warm sun” as we Jamaicans would say, of the act of going to stand in the sun for warmth on a cold day. I love doing that. So it seems to me that’s a good time to get your tan on. So it might not be so bad after all.

When Christmas breeze is as cold as this then I feel its an excellent reason for Sorrel done the right way for adults, with the spirits at the right level. That’s enough to warm a body up. And when that fails there are other ways and means even as the sun goes down…

Julie

About Julie
Just a Jamaican girl sending some positive vibes like gentle Jamaica breeze your way.

Leave a Reply

